PHDinMeBlog-Nutrition Tuesday/Cranberry Sauce Recipe

 

HEY SCHOLARS! Here in the US we are about to celebrate Thanksgiving!  This used to be my favorite holiday but now that I have children Christmas ties with it!  I have NEVER made and don’t even know if I have eaten homemade cranberry sauce so I scoured the net and think I have found a recipe I can handle.  I found the following picture and recipe on Food52.com:

Maple Spiced Cranberry Sauce
by c.levine • November 2, 2009 • 2d3d11f4-4667-4933-be8f-82c09b0820ea--TScranberrysauce
Author Notes: This cranberry sauce is sweetened with apple cider and a touch of maple syrup, rather than conventional sugar, for a healthier but flavorful Thanksgiving condiment. —c.levine

Serves 6

12ounces organic cranberries
1cup apple cider
1/3cup maple syrup
1/4teaspoon cinnamon
1/4teaspoon allspice

Place all ingredients in a medium sized saucepan and bring to a boil over medium high heat. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes. Berries will pop and burst. Remove from heat and cool; refrigerate until ready to serve.

Thought I would share in case you needed some cooking inspiration!  I will take pics and let you know how it came out after Thanksgiving and as always I will let you know the honest results and opinion, even of my kids so it doesn’t get any more honest than that!! LOL! Pray for me!:/ HAHA!

What are you doing for Thanksgiving?  Will you be cooking a healthy Thanksgiving meal or is this your time to GO ALL OUT?!?!

I’d like to know and do share your favorite dishes, I’m looking for new, fresh ideas because thus far, we are staying home and I am doing all the cooking:/)

Light, Love and Lotsa work in the Kitchen- Whew (just thinking of it!),

Shona

8 thoughts on “PHDinMeBlog-Nutrition Tuesday/Cranberry Sauce Recipe

  1. I prepare a big healthy meal and eat it before traveling to the family. This reduces any cravings for desserts which never seem to end at their house. Have a wonderful holiday. Good luck with the cranberry sauce.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Never heard of that! LOL! I have prepared meals before traveling to family so that we would still have a meal at home once we returned but never eaten beforehand! LOL! Oh my! I could see how helpful your way could be as far as helping to stay on track! Thanks for sharing! Light and Love, Shona

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanksgiving doesn’t happen in the Antipodes. That’s one less public holiday we have to worry about 😉 Anyway, we’re moving rapidly into summer – here tomorrow 38C (100.4F for the non believers).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

