PHDinMeBlog- Foodie Tuesday/pumpkin coffee review

Hey Scholars!

On the day before Halloween, IHOP had spooky pancake day! They would serve every kid under 12 a free spooky pancake from 7am until 10 pm!  Since the event fell on a Friday, I thought it would be a great fun way to start our weekend and the kids could barely go to sleep the night before as they were so excited to go to IHOP on a school day for breakfast!

We arrived around 8:15 am it wasn’t crowded like it was when we had gone on national pancake day and after just a few minutes we were given a table. We did our typical group potty run before we took our seats.

I already knew I wouldnt be eating any food there but I thought I may treat myself to a coffee.

Lo and behold when I got there I turned and saw this delightful sign.

image

Pumpkin flavored coffee! Perhaps still floating from my Fresh Market experience the day before where I had a sample cup of freshly roasted Pumkin Spice coffee that was made to perfection, I thought, “this will do the trick”

Not so. The children received their pancakes and wiggled in their seats with glee.

image

They started decorating them right away.

image

Then came my coffee.image

image

I know the picture had whipped cream on it but I still wasn’t expecting such a a large amount. This was a 16 oz cup!

I took a swig and OH MY WORD! It was seriously a cup of sugar. It was super sweet and really just taste like hot chocolate. I seriously did not taste any coffee. And very little pumpkin flavor. Of course at this point I’m asking myself ‘what did I expect’. But I was merciful with myself because whatever it was it wasn’t this. Surely, it was some powered mix from a can- aack!

I divided it up between the kids who were pleading to try it ( I’m sure due to the whip cream and hearing mommy say something about SUGAR) and just ordered plain black coffee.

image

When I tasted the lukewarm coffee, as it that weren’t already a no-no, it was horribly bitter and yucky. They didn’t have the sweetners I would normally use so I just accepted my coffee fate and threw in the cafe towel for the day.  I’m really more of a tea gal, but there are times when I am in a coffee mood and will seek to indulge. Never again at IHOP that’s for sure! Since I am not much of a coffee drinker I didn’t think I knew enough about coffee selections to have a “taste” for it one way or the other as I do tea, but somehow I think I have developed a bit of coffee snobbery!  Lol! I paid for my bad coffee and the kids and I went home to start our school day! They rode home excited and invigorated for their days lessons and I rode home having already learned mine:/ hahaha!

Light, love and premium (hot) coffee,

Shona

Leave a Reply

