PHDinMeBlog- Fitness Friday

image

Happy Friday Scholars!

We made it to FRI—DAY!!  Gotta sing it, right?!

It was a good workout week!  I stuck to my schedule and made it to the gym every day I was supposed to!  Hit my hydration on the head and ate pretty decent (I can usually do better here-hehe).  The only real issue was- LACK of sleep.  For example, I went to sleep at 1 am this morning and got up at 4:30 to go to the gym:/  BAD! Not good at all because sleep is EVERY BIT as IMPORTANT as WORKING OUT!

So, I told one of my morning gym buddies the deal and she is going to help keep me accountable this upcoming week with- Going to bed on time!

Have you tried the BOSU ball in your strength and balance workouts?

image

It’s a big ball (as you can see) weighted with some sand-type something inside.  It can be used for development of upper body strength by doing overhead and chest press moves.  Lower body development- thigh squeezes. Abs- Zero incline sit-ups. Cardio- stabilizing the ball and jumping over it.  Creative fitness enthusiasts can find MANY other uses for it.  I like using it in all ways although I am not the fondest of holding it for upper body movements. It feels almost too cumbersome to me when I do that.  But, its a fun switch up to use it, so I just grab and go!

As usual, I encourage you to get that workout in today and some form of intentional movement everyday!

When you do, please let me know what you did and how it makes you feel!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Please follow!  And leave your comments!  That makes me happy! HAHAHA!

Light and Love, 

Shona

2 thoughts on “PHDinMeBlog- Fitness Friday

  1. I’m an exercise junky. I’ve been exercising for the last 38 years. I am 56 years old and train 5 days a week. I do a split routine with weights 4 days a week and cardio 5 days. I retired last year. Up until then, I used to wake up at 3:15am to go to the gym. Sleep was the area of compromise. I aimed for at least 6 hours.
    It is a commitment, but one that has afforded me the luxury of participating in all activities I choose to in life. It has also been an essential component in maintaining good health. I do NOT recommend this intensity of commitment to others. When I discuss health on my blog site, I make certain it is realistic and achievable.
    Glad you were able to achieve your weekly goals. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your blog does a wonderful job of making health goals realistic and achievable! I am inspired by the elders amongst us who are committed to a healthy diet and physical fitness and higher living! Thank you Dr. Johnathan for walking the talk! Light and Love, Shona

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

