PHDinMEBLOG-Fitness

:))
:))

So some time ago after taking my children to Tae Kwon do practice I decided to give it a try (for a 6-8 week session two times per week) myself.  Sometimes I will do such a thing so I can experience first hand what my kids go through. I expect them to do their best, so I often want might the struggles of something they are doing actually be.

I learned right away as I had before that it was more difficult than it looked.  I thought to myself I will be sure to take it easy on them next time I’m demanding, “kick higher” “turn quicker” etc.

imagesDuring my time as a white belt, I was quite literally “beat up.”  Nothing horrendous thankfully but definitely something I was not used to.  the worst being what had to be a fractured toe that stayed black, blue and swollen way to long.  I couldn’t believe grown, professional otherwise nice men were really hitting me!  I was like “oh no, they do NOT have home-training!”  “You can’t hit a woman like this, I’m someone’s mother!”.  I most certainly planned to quit after the session was over BUT my meddling husband unrelentingly coached me back in the “ring” and a bit to my eldest dismay (she did not want to see her mom come home with another bruise)

Nearly a year and a half later, I’m still in and now all in.  For the first time in my life I am an athlete in a real sport!  Goodness know I have so much more to learn and improve on but I SOOO enjoy it and I am truly a martial artist who appreciates every aspect of the sport.  I recently earned my advanced blue belt in Tae Kwon Do!  I am happy because I did my best at this testing and although I passed my last testing I didn’t feel I did my best.  It makes a big difference.  On the outside only you know but real winners never really want to settle for less than their personal best!

2014-12-04 19.05.21

Thats me with the multicolored scarf!

Follow me!  I’ll be posting lots more about my practice of Tae Kwon Do

Light and Love,

Shona

Leave a Reply

